

IEEE Central Texas Section 2022 Summer/Fall Leadership Planning Meeting August 27, 2022 San Marcos, TX & Virtual

Section Committee/Officer Name: Andrew Bluiett Chapter/Affinity Name: Central Texas Section- Vice Chair Prepared by: Andrew Bluiett



Vision, Leadership Team

OU Name: Vision/Objectives/2022 Focused Initiatives*

Leadership Team Vice Chair Andrew Bluiett

Drive immediate organizational efficiency Updated Website (https://r5.ieee.org/ctx/) Officer Elections Report New Officers
Provide training and knowledge sharing sessions (May- Treasurer Training) (CTS - WebEx training. Recorded Trainings in Google Docs.)
Conduct/Support marketing events to grow membership IEEE Day - October 4 2022; IEEE Day Ambassador; Shared CTS Events Industry speaker acquisition – More available due to Virtual Meetings Appreciation Dinner- In person/County Line BBQ on the Lake (November 13th)

(*) These can be technical meetings, workshops, networking events, etc.



2022 Key Accomplishments to date

Training:

- Officer training for Treasurer
- Recording posted on CTS website

New Officers/Members/Elevations:

- Welcome new officers from student chapter
- Reach new membership to encourage participation.
- Participate in Senior Member upgrade review panel.
- Successful end of the year celebrations at CTS and other chapters/affinity groups.



2022 Chapter Vitality & Help Needed

Chapter Vitality Assessment (Strong, Ok, Need Improvement)

Meetings, Financial, Membership, Workshops, Conferences, Virtual Meetings

Top Help Needed/Issues

Meeting Places for in-person, Engage the membership, Engage the Student Chapters, Increase support from corporations, Hybrid Meetings

Plans for 2023?

More Training for volunteers in leadership positions (Secretary)? / Special projects from Chair



CTS Website

Texas State-San Marcos

The Executive Committee must approve the IEEE CTS budget for 2022, for which we need a quorum of 13. CTS voting ExCom members include all 18 Chairs of CTS Chapters/Affinity Groups as well as 4 CTS Officers, 2 past chairs, the Electronic Communications Chair, and the Section Student

Representative. Any Chapter/Affinity Group Chair may approve another officer to vote in their place.

Section Officers, Committee Chairs and Coordinators

Society Chapters, Affinity Groups, Student Branches Executive Committee and Section Committee

CTS Section Chapter/Affinity Group Officer Training presentation 5/6/2021

Upcoming CTS Events! About

About Us

Look forward to seeing you!

The next Planning Meeting will be late August/early September.

REGISTER HERE: https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/298709

On November 17th, IEEE Central Texas Section and Leslie Martinich, Chair, CTS TEMS, WIE and ED Chapters hosted a Volunteer appreciation event at Sholz Bier Garten!

HIGH TECH HAPPY HOUR: BOLLYWOOD STYLE!!

Click Meetings to see the next 180 days of planned activity in Central Texas Saturday, January 22nd: <u>IEEE Central Texas Section Winter Planning Meeting</u> for Executive and Section Committee Members. All IEEE members in Central Texas welcome to attend!

In-Person in San Marcos as well as Virtual by Zoom. Breakfast Tacos, coffee and a full

The ExCom (which includes all Chairs of CTS Chapters and Affinity Groups) will vote early in the meeting on the 2022 Section/Chapter budget to be sent to IEEE. We will also discuss Section/Chapter/Ag Dans for 2022 and any assistance needed.

This live in-person EVENT was certainly a breath of fresh air, with outdoor professional networking, drinks, food, fun and LIVE ENTERTAINMENT, including a scene from Bollywood Twelfth Night* performed by actors from Austin Shakespeare and a panel discussion on Arts and Technology with Austin Singer-Songwriter Nagavalli.

Several senior members spoke in tribute to Pike Powers, Who passed away recently. He will long be remembered and celebrated for all the wonderful things he did for the Austin Tech Community.

slie, who organized the event with her

Barbecue lunch for In-Person Attendees!

Section History Awards and Honors

Volunteer







Humanitarian Protects









ing Meeting 1/23/2021







CTS Leadership – "Executive" Committee

	Section Chair	Larry Larson
	Vice Chair	Andrew Bluiett
	Manager of Electronic Communications	Dennis Ferguson
	Secretary	Martha Dodge
	Treasurer	Bill Martino
	One of Two Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Fawzi Behmann
	One of Two Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Leslie Martinich
CH05005	Comm/Sig Proc./Cons Tech (COM19/SP01/CE08)	Fawzi Behmann *
CH05006	Computer & EMBS (C16/EMB18)	Fawzi Behmann. *
CH05008	Electromag Compatibility (EMC27)	Jack McFadden
CH05009	PES, PELS, IES, IAS, PSES (PE31,PEL35,IE13,IA34, PSE43)	Ruth Sulzer
CH05069	Photonics (PHO36)	Daniel Wasserman
CH05188	Ckts & Sys/Solid State (CAS/SSC)	Jaydeep Kulkarni
CH05202	Education (E25)	Leslie Martinich. *
CH05220	Ant. Prop. & MW Tech (AP03/MTT17)	Casey Latham
CH05225	Instrument & Measurement (IM09)	Luis Cabeza
CH05230	CEDA44 Council/Electronic Design& Automation	Kevin Nesmith
CH05235	Tech & Engr Mgmt (TEM14)	Leslie Martinich. *
CH05240	SEN39 Sensors Council	Brent Lunceford
CH05250	Tech & Engr Mgmt (TEM14) (UT-Austin Grad)	Suyogya Karki
CH10136	Electron Devices (ED15)	Larry Larson *
CN50005	Consultants Network (CN)	Luis Basto
YP50005	Young Professionals (YP)	Karina Paz
LM50005	Life Member (LM)	Kai Wong
WE50005	Women in Engineering (WE)	Leslie Martinich *
SSR	Section Student Representative (SSR)	Daniel Lewis (TXST)
Quorum 13	* Another Chapter/AG Officer can vote for the Chair. A separate individual is required for each of the vote. 8.29.2018	Inactive

CTS Leadership – "Section" Committee

	Section Chair	Larry Larson
	Vice Chair	Andrew Bluiett
	Mgr./Electronic Communications	Dennis Ferguson
	Secretary	Martha Dodge
	Treasurer	Bill Martino
	Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Fawzi Behmann Leslie Martinich
	Standing Committees	
	Awards and Recognition	Leslie Martinich
	Electronics Communications	Dennis Ferguson
	K-12 Educational Activities	John Purvis
	Membership Development	James Mercier
	Policies and Procedures	Tom Grim
	Professional Activities	Fawzi Behmann
	University Student Liaison	Larry Larson
Quorum 7		



CTS Student Leadership

STB04141	Texas State Branch Chair/President 2021-22	Nick Garrard	ncg36@txstate.edu
STB04141A	Texas State Computer Engr Branch Chapter Chair/President 2021-22	Jessie Smith	j s817@txstate.edu
STB01971	UT Austin Branch Chair/President 2021-22	Brian Ding	chair@ieeeut.org
SBC01971A	UT-Austin (COM19) Communications		Not active
SBC01971B	UT Austin Branch RAS Chapter Chair/President 2021-22	Ian Krause	ras president@utlists.utexas.edu
SBC01971C	UT-Austin (PE31) Power & Energy 2021-22	Prarthana Dias	president.ut.ieeepes@gmail.com
HKN023	UT Eta Kappa Nu, Psi Austin 2021-22	Madilyn Sikorski	president@hkn.ece.utexas.edu



CTS Extended Leadership Other Committees/Coordinators

Committee Chair (K12 STEM)	John Purvis	
Conference Chair	Fawzi Behmann	
Finance Committee	Kai Wong, John Purvis, Tom Grim	
Newsletter Editor	Semih Aslan Dennis Ferguson	
Nominations / Appointments Chair	Leslie Martinich	
Outreach Program-Corporate	Fawzi Behmann	
PACE Chair	Norma Antunano	
Professional Activities	Fawzi Behmann	
R5 South Chair	Christopher Sanderson	
OU Analytics	James Mercier	

