

IEEE Central Texas Section 2022 Summer/Fall Leadership Planning Meeting August 27, 2022 San Marcos, TX & Virtual

Section Committee/Officer Name: Luis Basto

Chapter/Affinity Name: Central Texas Consultants Network

Prepared by: Luis Basto



Vision, Leadership Team

OU Name: Central Texas Consultants Network Vision/Objectives/2022 Focused Initiatives*

The Consultant Network promotes the development of members' careers through professional and social networking, including publicizing members' skills and sharing potential professional opportunities, and supports the IEEE Central Texas Section.

- · Hold monthly high quality, mostly technical meeting, jointly with LMA
- Hold one day/one half day high quality workshops

Leadership Team

Position	Name	Email
Chairman	Luis Basto	lbasto@ieee.org
Vice Chair/Treasurer	Jody Everett	peverett@austin.rr.com
Secretary	Bill Martino	bill.martino@ieee.org
Member at large	Kai Wong	kaiwong@ieee.org
Member at large	Sergio Liberman	sergio.liberman@gmail.com
Program Chair	Open	
Webmaster	Open, Luis Basto (temp)	

OU (Chapter/Affinity Group) Size and profile

Affinity Group: 50-100



^(*) These can be technical meetings, workshops, networking events, etc.

2022 Key Accomplishments to date

Meetings (month, topic, "L31" Meeting Reports):

- •Jan 2022 \$17 Billion Fab!!! Really Dr. Larry Larson. 31 IEEE, 3 Non IEEE.
- •Feb 2022 Investment Market 2022 Jeff Krunplelman. 23 IEEE, 5 Non IEEE.
- •Mar 2022 Moore's Law, Bent, not Broken Dennis Ferguson. 27 IEEE, 1 Non IEEE.
- •Apr 2022 Product Safety Requirements in the US Charles D Goertz. 18 IEEE, 1 Non IEEE.
- •May 2022 Future of 3D Alex Porter. 12 IEEE, 3 Non IEEE.
- •Jun 2022 Seeing Red James Webb Space Telescope Clyde Springen. 35 IEEE, 4 Non IEEE.
- •Jul 2022 Source Science Technology Dr. Doug Matzke. 22 IEEE, 1 Non IEEE.
- •Aug 2022 Semiconductor Golden Years, 1970-2000 Mike Collins. 30 IEEE, 6 Non IEEE.

Other Activities/Events:



2021 Chapter Vitality & Help Needed

Chapter Vitality Assessment (Strong, Ok, Need Improvement)

Examples: Attendance, Topical & Relevance, membership recruitment, finance, volunteers,

- Attendance at most meetings increased over previous year. Certainly due to virtual format and co-hosting with other groups.
- Most meetings recorded slides and video available on webpage, https://ewh.ieee.org/r5/central_texas/cn/index.htm

Top Help Needed/Issues

Examples: Attendance, Speakers, Training, Finance, Events, collaboration with STEM/Students/PACE/YP/Life Mem, ...

- Continued Funding.
- Need to widen speaker net need help with filling Program Manager position
- Need new officers current slate has rotated several positions so would be good to replace current incumbent officers.
- Need to attract younger members.

Plans for 2023?

Examples: New programming/outreach based on 2021 Pandemic Leanings?
Restarted live/hybrid meetings in May 2022. Current venue at AARC is relatively central and best of all, free.

A workshop can be entertained in 2023. A virtual workshop may also be a possibility of Fundanity since we can have outside speakers.

CTS Leadership - "Executive" Committee

	Section Chair	Larry Larson
	Vice Chair	Andrew Bluiett
	Manager of Electronic Communications	Dennis Ferguson
	Secretary	Martha Dodge
	Treasurer	Bill Martino
	One of Two Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Fawzi Behmann
	One of Two Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Leslie Martinich
CH05005	Comm/Sig Proc./Cons Tech (COM19/SP01/CE08)	Fawzi Behmann *
CH05006	Computer & EMBS (C16/EMB18)	Fawzi Behmann. *
CH05008	Electromag Compatibility (EMC27)	Jack McFadden
CH05009	PES, PELS, IES, IAS, PSES (PE31,PEL35,IE13,IA34, PSE43)	Ruth Sulzer
CH05069	Photonics (PHO36)	Daniel Wasserman
CH05188	Ckts & Sys/Solid State (CAS/SSC)	Jaydeep Kulkarni
CH05202	Education (E25)	Leslie Martinich. *
CH05220	Ant. Prop. & MW Tech (AP03/MTT17)	Casey Latham
CH05225	Instrument & Measurement (IM09)	Luis Cabeza
CH05230	CEDA44 Council/Electronic Design& Automation	Kevin Nesmith
CH05235	Tech & Engr Mgmt (TEM14)	Leslie Martinich. *
CH05240	SEN39 Sensors Council	Brent Lunceford
CH05250	Tech & Engr Mgmt (TEM14) (UT-Austin Grad)	Suyogya Karki
CH10136	Electron Devices (ED15)	Larry Larson *
CN50005	Consultants Network (CN)	Luis Basto
YP50005	Young Professionals (YP)	Karina Paz
LM50005	Life Member (LM)	Kai Wong
WE50005	Women in Engineering (WE)	Leslie Martinich *
SSR	Section Student Representative (SSR)	Daniel Lewis (TXST)
Quorum 13		
	* Another Chapter/AG Officer can vote for the Chair.	Inactive
	A separate individual is required for each of the vote. 8.29.2018	

CTS Leadership - "Section" Committee

	Section Chair	Larry Larson
	Vice Chair	Andrew Bluiett
	Mgr./Electronic Communications	Dennis Ferguson
	Secretary	Martha Dodge
	Treasurer	Bill Martino
	Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Fawzi Behmann Leslie Martinich
	Standing Committees	
	Awards and Recognition	Leslie Martinich
	Electronics Communications	Dennis Ferguson
	K-12 Educational Activities	John Purvis
	Membership Development	James Mercier
	Policies and Procedures	Tom Grim
	Professional Activities	Fawzi Behmann
	University Student Liaison	Larry Larson
Quorum 7		



CTS Student Leadership

STB04141	Texas State Branch Chair/President 2021-22	Nick Garrard	ncg36@txstate.edu
STB04141A	Texas State Computer Engr Branch Chapter Chair/President 2021-22	Jessie Smith	j s817@txstate.edu
STB01971	UT Austin Branch Chair/President 2021-22	Brian Ding	chair@ieeeut.org
SBC01971A	UT-Austin (COM19) Communications		Not active
SBC01971B	UT Austin Branch RAS Chapter Chair/President 2021-22	Ian Krause	ras president@utlists.utexas.edu
SBC01971C	UT-Austin (PE31) Power & Energy 2021-22	Prarthana Dias	president.ut.ieeepes@gmail.com
HKN023	UT Eta Kappa Nu, Psi Austin 2021-22	Madilyn Sikorski	president@hkn.ece.utexas.edu



CTS Extended Leadership

Other Committees/Coordinators

Committee Chair (K12 STEM)	John Purvis
Conference Chair	Fawzi Behmann
Finance Committee	Kai Wong, John Purvis, Tom Grim
Newsletter Editor	Semih Aslan Dennis Ferguson
Nominations / Appointments Chair	Leslie Martinich
Outreach Program-Corporate	Fawzi Behmann
PACE Chair	Norma Antunano
Professional Activities	Fawzi Behmann
R5 South Chair	Christopher Sanderson
OU Analytics	James Mercier

