

# IEEE Central Texas Section 2022 Summer Leadership Planning Meeting August 27, 2022 San Marcos, TX & Virtual

Section Committee/Officer Name: Life Member Chair

Chapter/Affinity Name: Life Member Affinity Group

Prepared by: Kai Wong



## Vision, Leadership Team

## Organizational Unit (OU) Name: Life Member Affinity Group Vision/Objectives/2022 Focused Initiatives\*

Promote and develop membership through professional and social networking; addressing topics of interest to Members, including volunteer activities, and supports the IEEE Central Texas Section. 2022 Focus: Meeting Members' Interest

#### **Leadership Team**

Position	Name	Email
Chair	Kai Wong	kaiwong@ieee.org
Vice Chair	Tom Grim	t.grim@ieee.org
Secretary	Clyde Springen	clyde.springen@ieee.org
Treasurer	Bill Martino	bill.martino@ieee.org
Program	Kai Wong	kaiwong@ieee.org
Web Master	John Purvis	John.Purvis@ieee.org
Membership	Open	_

**CTS LMAG: Size and profile** 

432 (Jan 2021), 449 (Sep 2021), 455 (Jan 2022), 426 (July 2022). Mostly Retired, 10% attending LM meetings. New Retirees and relocation.



<sup>(\*)</sup> These can be technical meetings, workshops, networking events, etc.

### **2022 CTS LM YTD Activities**

#### Meetings Held/Reported in vTools (month, topic,):

Date	Title	Speaker	Company	Reg.	IEEE	Guest
19-Jan	\$17Billion Fab!!! Really	Larry Larson	TSU, Retired	58	31	3
15-Feb	Investment Market 2022	Jeff Krumpelman	Charles S/MWA	45	23	5
15-Mar	Moore's Law - Bent, not Broken	Dennis Ferguson	Retired, LM-S	65	27	1
20-Apr	Product Safety Talk	Charles D Goertz	TUV	30	18	1
18-May	Future of 3D	Alex Porter	Mod Tech Labs	22	12	3
22-Jun	Seeing Red - J Webb Space Telescope	Clyde Springen	Retiree, LM-S	61	35	4
13-Jul	Source Science Technology	Doug Matzke	Retiree, CTO	33	22	1
18-Aug	Semiconductor Golden Years	Mike Collins	Retiree, EE			
29-Sep	VC and Tech Startups	Mark Campbell	Evotek Labs			
20-Oct	TBD					
17-Nov	Mature Sr. Living Options, M A Lunch	Wayne Caswell	Modern Health			
Total				314	168	18
<b>Grand Ttl</b>	Ratio: 186/314=59%					186

## 2022 Chapter Vitality & Help Needed

#### **Chapter Vitality Assessment (Strong, Ok, Need Improvement)**

- 2022 strategy was to broaden topics beyond technology, such as hobby, travel, finance, investment, Estate planning, health and Aging topics.
- Due to Covid concern, we had virtual meeting for the first three months.
- We started to book AARC for in-person hybrid meeting since April, 2022.
- Joint Meeting with Consultants Network and other R5 LMAG chapters.
- Good teamwork and able to find good speakers and topics.
- We held more cohost meetings and reached other R5 cities and countries.
- 7 Months Registration averaged 45/mon. and attendees 28, lower than 2021's 50 and 30.
- Meetings were recorded and posted in You Tube Channel. Best meetings were viewed by 64, 43 and 44. Two meetings in 2021 were viewed by 81.

#### Top Help Needed/Issues for 2022

- Due to Covid-19, less opportunity to network and identify good speakers.
- Need to prepare for backup speakers and topic from our team and sister chapters.

#### **Plans for 2022 and 2023**

- Opportunity to have remote speakers and R5 LMAG Joint meetings.
- Add Membership Mgr. to target newly retirees to keep them active.
- Recruit volunteers and Identify 2023 new leader.
- More joint meetings with R5 LMAG and other Tech. Chapters.



## **CTS Leadership**

#### **CTS Officers**

Chair: Larry Larson; Vice Chair: Andrew Bluiett; Treasurer: Bill Martino; Secretary: Martha Dodge

**Past Chairs:** Fawzi Behmann, Leslie Martinich

Standing Committees &	Coordinators		
Committee Chair (K12 STEM)	John Purvis		
Conference Chair	Fawzi Behmann		
Consultants Net (Coord)	Luis Basto		
Coordinator-Life Member	Kai Wong		
Educational Activities	Leslie Martinich		
Electronic Comm Coordinator	James Mercier		
Finance Committee			
Govt Activities Coordinator	Leslie Martinich Mina Hanna		
Membership Development	James Mercier		
Newsletter Editor	Semih Aslan		
Nomin & Appointmts Chair	Leslie Martinich		
Outreach Program-Corporate	Fawzi Behmann		
Policies and Procedures	John Purvis Tom Grim		
PACE Chair (coordinator)	Norma Antunano		
Professional Activities	Fawzi Behmann		
R5 South Chair	Christopher Sanderson		
OU Analytics	James Mercier		



## **CTS Leadership - Executive Committee**

	Section Chair	Larry Larson
	Vice Chair	Andrew Bluiett
	Manager of Electronic Communications	James Mercier
	Secretary	Martha Dodge
	Treasurer	Bill Martino
	One of Two Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Fawzi Behmann
	One of Two Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Leslie Martinich
CH05005	Comm/Sig Proc./Consumer Tech (COM19/SP01/CE08)	Fawzi Behmann *
CH05006	Computer & EMBS (C16/EMB18)	Fawzi Behmann. *
CH05008	Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC27)	Ross Carlton
CH05009	PI <sup>2</sup> (PE31, PEL35 ,IE13, IA34, PSE43)	Ruth Sulzer
CH05069	Photonics (PHO36)	Daniel Wasserman #
CH05188	Ckts & Sys/Solid State (CAS/SSC)	Jaydeep Kulkarni
CH05202	Education (E25)	Leslie Martinich *
CH05220	Ant. Prop. & MW Tech (AP03/MTT17)	Casey Latham #
CH05225	Instrument & Measurement (IM09)	#
CH05230	CEDA44 Council/Electronic Design& Automation	Kevin Nesmith
CH05235	Tech & Engr Mgmt (TEM14)	Leslie Martinich *
CH05240	SEN39 Sensors Council	Brent Lunceford
CH05250	Tech & Engr Mgmt (TEM14) (UT-Austin Grad)	Rachel Rajarathnam
CH10136	Electron Devices (ED15)	Larry Larson *
CN50005	Consultants Network (CN)	Luis Basto
YP50005	Young Professionals (YP)	Karina Paz/Daniel Lewis
LM500051	Life Member (LM)	Kai Wong
WE50005	Women in Engineering (WE)	Leslie Martinich *
SSR	Section Student Representative (SSR)	Justice Micka (TX State)
Quorum 13	* Another Chap/AG Officer can vote for the Chair	# Inactive

For a 50% quorum:
A separate
individual is
required for each of
the 13 votes
required 8.29.2020



## **CTS Leadership - Section Committee**

Section	Section Chair	Larry Larson
Committee	Vice Chair	Andrew Bluiett
	Manager of Electronic Communications	James Mercier
	Secretary	Martha Dodge
	Treasurer	Bill Martino
	Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Fawzi Behmann
	Immediate two Past Section Chairs	Leslie Martinich
Standing	Awards and Recognition	Leslie Martinich
Committees	Electronics Communications	James Mercier
	K-12 Educational Activities	John Purvis
	Membership Development	James Mercier
	Policies and Procedures	Tom Grim
	Professional Activities	Fawzi Behmann
	University Student Liaison	Larry Larson
Quorum 8	<u>vTools</u>	Kenny Rice
Other Chairs	Newsletter Editor	Semih Aslan
	PACE Chair	Norma Antunano
	Government Activities	Leslie Martinich



## **CTS Student Leadership**

STB04141	Texas State Branch Chair/President 2021-22	Stephen Smyth	wpx1@txstate.edu
STB04141A	Texas State Computer Engr Branch Chapter Chair/President 2021-22	Jessie Smith	j s817@txstate.edu
STB01971	UT Austin Branch Chair/President 2021-22	Pranesh Satish	chair@ieeeut.org
SBC01971A	UT-Austin (COM19) Communications		Not active
SBC01971B	UT Austin Branch RAS Chapter Chair/President 2021-22	Ian Krause	ras president@utlists.utexas.edu
SBC01971C	UT-Austin (PE31) Power & Energy 2021-22	Umar Burney	president.ut.ieeepes@gmail.com
HKN023	UT Eta Kappa Nu, Psi Austin 2021-22	Madilyn Sikorski	president@hkn.ece.utexas.edu

