

IEEE Central Texas Section 2020 Summer/Fall Leadership Planning Meeting August 29, 2020 San Marcos, TX & WebEx

Section Committee/Officer Name: Rachel S. Rajarathnam

Chapter/Affinity Name: **IEEE TEMS Graduate Student Chapter** (CH05250, TEM14, UT Grad)

Prepared by: Rachel S. Rajarathnam





Vision/Objectives/2020 Focused Initiatives*

- □ Adapt to a virtual environment for 2020-2021 academic year
- Seminar on <u>"Impostor Syndrome"</u> scheduled for Monday 08/31 as part of UT ECE department 'Welcome Week'
- □ Continue to plan/replan Fall events seminar, post doc talk & others
- □ More collaboration with CTS and other student organizations at UT.

OU (Chapter/Affinity Group) Size and profile

□ About 30+ students comprising mostly of graduate and few post docs.

(*) These can be technical meetings, workshops, networking events, etc.



Leadership Team

Leadership Team

Position	Name	Email
Chair	Rachel S. Rajarathnam	rachelselina.r@utexas.edu
Treasurer/Secretary	Subrahmanya Teja	subrahmanya_teja@utexas.edu
Webmaster/Publicity	Mahshid Alamdar	alamdar@utexas.edu
Corporate liaison	Suyogya Karki	suyogya.karki@utexas.edu
Technical Discussion	Jayanth Raghavendrarao T	jayanth.r.t@utexas.edu
Technical Discussion	Neelotpala Kumar	neelotk@utexas.edu
Post doc officer1	Dr. Martha Serna	martha.serna@utexas.edu
Post doc officer2	Dr. Dmitry Kireev	d.kireev@utexas.edu

Co-advisors: Dr. Deji Akinwande & Dr. Jean Anne Incorvia, UT Austin



2020 Key Accomplishments

Meetings/Activities:

- 2 Officers Meeting to brainstorm ideas for events and outreach (Spring & Summer)
- **EDS Distinguished Lecture** by Prof. Muhammad Mustafa Hussain, KAUST, Saudi Arabia on 02/08 (co-hosted with IEEE EDS society)
- **1 Postdoc Talks** by our officers (Spring & Summer)
- First Corporate Event with Cirrus Logic (Spring)
- **Volunteering** for UT girl day and Spring EXPO (Spring)
- YouTube channel



4 3/23/23

https://r5.ieee.org/ctx-tems/past-events

2020 Key Accomplishments

Award:

Recognition by UT ECE department: **Texas ECE IEEE** Grad Student Branch Excellence Award' for 2019-2020

 Special thanks to everyone involved with the IEEE CTS and our fellow officers and our advisors!



https://r5.ieee.org/ctx-tems/upcoming-events

2020 Chapter Vitality & Help Needed

Chapter Vitality Assessment (Strong, Ok, Need Improvement)

- Strong and Steady progress
 - Had paused activities since mid-March and cancelled 2 in-person type events
 - Restarted in summer using both Zoom + YouTube live stream
 - Continue to engage students and researchers through seminars and talks

Top Help Needed/Issues

 Transition to a virtual environment – we are still figuring out how to navigate this change

Plans for 2021?

- Plan for new collaborations both within UT and with IEEE CTS
- Brainstorm ideas to move in-person type events virtually Socials and discussions



CTS Leadership

CTS Officers Chair: Larry Larson; Vice Chair: Andrew Bluiett; Treasurer: Bill Martino; Secretary: Martha Dodge Past Chairs: Fawzi Behmann, Leslie Martinich

Standing Committees &	Coordinators		Chapters & Affinity Grou	ips	
Committee Chair (K12 STEM)	John Purvis	СН05005	Comms/Sign Proc/ConsElec (COM19/SP01/CE08)		
Conference Chair	Fawzi Behmann	CH05006	Computer & EMBS (C16/EMB18)		
Consultants Net (Coord)	Luis Basto	CH05008	Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC27)		
Coordinator-Life Member	Kai Wong	CH05009	PES, PELS, IES, IAS (PE31,PEL35,IE13,IA34)		
Educational Activities	Leslie Martinich	CH05069	Photonics (PHO36)		
Electronic Comm Coordinator	Joe Redfield	CH05188	5188 CCT Sys & Solid State (CAS/SSC)		
	James Mercier	CH05190	Product Safety Engr (PSE43)		
Finance Committee		CH05202 Education (E25)			
Govt Activities Coordinator	Leslie Martinich	CH05220	Ant. Prop. & MW Tech (AP03/MTT17)		
	Mina Hanna	CH05225	Instrument & Measurement (IM09)		
Membership Development	James Mercier	CH05235	Tech & Engr Management (TEM14)		
Newsletter Editor	Joe Redfield	CH05250	Tech & Engr Mgmt (TEM14) UT-Austin Grad		
Nomin 9 Appointmete Chair	James Mercier Leslie Martinich	CH10136 Electron Devices (ED15)			
Nomin & Appointmts Chair Outreach Program-Corporate	Fawzi Behmann	CN50005 Consultants Network (CN)			
Policies and Procedures	John Purvis	YP50005	YP50005 Young Professionals (YP)		
Folicies and Flocedules	Tom Grim	LM50005	Life Member (LM)		
PACE Chair (coordinator)	Norma Antunano	WE50005	Women in Engineering (WIE)		
Professional Activities	Fawzi Behmann	Student Groups			
R5 South Chair	Christopher	HKN023 UT Eta Kappa Nu, Psi Austin			
	Sanderson	SBC1971	UT-Austin (C16) Computer Soc		
		UT-Austin (COM19) Communicat			
	Joe Redfield	SBC0197B	UT-Austin (RA24) Robotics/Auto		
7 0/00/00		SBC0197C	UT-Austin (PE31) Power & Energy		
7 3/23/23		STB01971	UT-Austin St Branch	Advancing Technology for Humanity	

STB04141

Tx State San Marcos St Branch