Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

[IEEE-KC PES/IAS] TECHNICAL SEMINAR 3 OF 4 – Emerging Nuclear Technologies

April 16 @ 11:00 pm - April 17 @ 2:00 am

Event Category:

The IEEE-KC PES/IAS Joint Chapter is pleased to announce its Technical Seminar Series for Spring 2024!

This year we will be returning to an in-person hybrid format, although we will also offer a virtual option. Please see below for location details.

Emerging Nuclear Technologies

Join us for an evening exploring several developing technologies in the realm of nuclear power generation! This evening’s topics include Small Modular Reactor technologies, options for adapting fossil fuel plants to new nuclear technologies, and the future of fusion energy.

Topics for this year are:

– April 2 (Tuesday) – [Regional Operations Topics](https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/408955)
– April 9 (Tuesday) – [Relaying Technologies](https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/410789)
– April 16 (Tuesday) – Emerging Nuclear Technologies
– April 30 (Tuesday) – [Harmonics in Modern Power Systems & STATCOM Technology](https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/410798)

Fee Schedule:

– Student Members
– $25 (in-person w/meal)
– $0 (virtual or in-person w/o meal)

– IEEE Members:
– $35 (in-person)
– $15 (virtual)

– Non-Members:
– $40 (in-person)
– $20 (virtual)

– Corporate members: $140 per seat for all four events (in-person)*

*Please contact the PES officer team for corporate registration.

PES Officer & Volunteer team contact information:

– Evergy: Jason Weil (jason.weil@evergy.com); Luis Gonzalez (luis.gonzalez@evergy.com)
– Burns & McDonnell: Mahfooz Hilaly (mhilaly@burnsmcd.com); Jason Ottens (jpottens@burnsmcd.com)
– Siemens: Chris Dyer (chris.dyer@siemens-energy.com)
– Kiewit: Tony Locatelli (tony.locatelli@kiewit.com)
– Black & Veatch: Soham Ghosh (Soham.Ghosh@bv.com)
– Univ. of Central Missouri: Mohammad Sadi (sadi@ucmo.edu)

Parking Directions:

Please enter the campus from the south side on 90th Street. Follow the diagram below to locate parking and the main entrance to the building.

Speaker(s): Brian Gitt, Caleb Tomlin, Jay Brister

Agenda:
Doors to the in-person event open at 5:00pm. Dinner will be served at approximately 5:00pm, prior to the seminar.

The evening’s seminar will include three presentations and will begin promptly at 6:00pm CDT. Each presentation will include 1 break, as well as a short quiz and survey. Completion of the quiz will be required to receive a PDH certificate.

Kiewit, 8900 Renner Blvd., Lenexa, Kansas, United States, 66219, Virtual: https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/410796