Congratulations to Prof. Stuart A. Long – IEEE AP-S Awards 2018

Dr. Stuart A. Long received Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award in the reception banquet held during 2018 IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation and USNC-URSI Radio Science Meeting (8 – 13 July 2018) at The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel on July 11, 2018.

Dr. Long is a Professor of Electrical and Computer engineering in Cullen College of Engineering and Associate Dean of the Honors College and Undergraduate Research at the University of Houston.

Each year the APS recognizes individuals or groups of individuals who have made an impact on technology or the society in distinct ways. The 2018 AP-S Awards are denoted by the Society Field Awards and Best Paper Awards. The Field Awards recognize distinguished contributions based upon technical achievements and/or excellence in education and teaching. Recipients are determined based on nominations and recommendations from APS society members.

The organization recognized Dr. Long for “his commitment to electromagnetics education through teaching, research and the development of programs to attract students into electromagnetics and engineering.” The award was created in 2000 to recognize outstanding career achievements by an educator in the field of antennas and propagation.

Dr. Long has been teaching and researching at UH since the 1970s and has spent years creating a thriving culture of undergraduate research, mentorship, and achievement. At the University of Houston, Dr. Long has won almost every faculty honor there is including the Esther Farfel Award in 2010 – the highest honor a UH faculty member can receive – and the Fluor Daniel Award – the top career award given by the College. Long was also the first recipient of the UH Career Teaching Excellence Award.

His research interests are in the broad area of applied electromagnetics and wireless communications, and more specifically in microstrip and dielectric resonator antennas.

He became an IEEE Fellow in 1991, won the IEEE Third Millennium Medal in 2000 and received the organization’s Life Fellow status in 2010 – a designation given to those with “an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.” He also received the IEEE AP-S John Kraus Antenna Award in 2014 for creating the dielectric resonator antenna, an antenna which is completely composed of non-conducting materials and is exceedingly efficient at very high frequencies.

Article written by Newsletter Chairperson: Payal Majumdar with valuable inputs from UH Cullen College of Engineering News SectionLet us know if you would like to be part of the newsletter team capturing events and sharing our stories.

Follow Us / Tweet Us Facebook Us / LinkedIn Us / Contact Us

IEEE Houston

Leave a Reply