Welcome Our ExCom Leadership for 2018

Meet the new Chair of the IEEE Houston Section for 2018, Alice Wang. She is no stranger to everyone since she has been working diligently as the Vice-Chair of the section for the past 2 years. With her passion in promoting gender diversity in technology, she is a mentor of female engineers. She has served various leadership positions such as IEEE WIE and Offshore Technology Conference The Next Wave Program.

 Alice Wang, HOU Sec Chair 2018 - 2019Chair Message: As incoming Chair of our Section, I have several priorities, one of the most important being to increase membership benefits and membership growth in our Section. I look forward to meeting new people in our Houston Section and bring new ideas and energy. We welcome you to come and volunteer for the section and make your ideas a reality! I strongly encourage our IEEE members and student members to attend our monthly Section meetings and play a more active role in IEEE. Take a look at our IEEE Houston Section web page to find which committee you want to work with and volunteer.

Our new Vice-Chair is also not a stranger here, Christopher Sanderson was the Secretary for the past 2 years. He also wore multiple hats and as the Awards & Arrangements Chair for 2 years before becoming Secretary, as well as our continuing Webmaster! He also has been our guest a speaker at some of our section meetings! It was no surprise he won our section special achievement award!

Christopher Sanderson, HOU Sec. Co-ChairVice-Chair Message: It’s with great pleasure and honor, I serve my fellow IEEE member colleagues. Our incoming Section Chair Alice Wang and myself bring the continuity of our sections rich past with a focused vision of our sections future. I look forward to meeting, seeing, and creating new memories with all of our members of IEEE Houston Section Societies and Communities. Please feel free to contact Alice Wang or CB Sanderson and ask “how we can create our Section’s future together?”


Our current Treasurer, Donald Dunn has done a great job in balancing and reporting budgets and accounts of the IEEE Houston Section. So there will be no change to our current Treasurer position. Donald continues to manage and help us become better stewards of our section finances for a sustainable future.

IEEE PCIC 2017 Awards 6800 Peter Baen Donald DunnDonald Dunn has served in a number of capacities within the Houston Section, Past HOU Section Chair, and  IEEE PES IAS PCIC Chairman.  In 2017 he received the Russell W. Mills award “In Recognition of Outstanding Dedication and Service to Furthering the Objectives of PCIC” and in 2016 was selected for the PCIC Outstanding Technical Contribution Award.  When one looks at the leaders within our industry who received these two awards prior to my recognition, I am humbled to have my industry accomplishments be considered on par with individuals who have been my mentors, colleagues and friends and have helped me immeasurably throughout my career.

Manifolds congratulations and best wishes to our newly appointed 2018 ExCom Leadership. We hope IEEE Houston Section will continue being successful under the new leadership.

Article written by Newsletter Chairperson: Payal Majumdar


Follow Us / Tweet Us / Facebook Us /LinkedIn Us / Contact Us

IEEE Houston Sectionsites.ieee.org/Houston




Leave a Reply