The annual holiday banquet event of the Wichita section was held on the 28th of November.

Dr. Visvakumar Aravinthan, who is an Associate Professor and Department Chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at Wichita State University, gave a presentation titled ‘(Re)branding Electrical and Computer Engineering‘ on the changes required in the academia to better prepare engineering students to meet the current needs of the industry The banquet was preceded by Wichita section undergraduate research poster competition, and the winners were awarded during the ceremony.

Listed below are the winners of the competition. The first two placed students will be presented with the opportunity of representing the section in the area wide competitions next year.

1st Place – Mary Peterson

Economic and service reliability comparison of operation strategies for utility-scale solar with battery

2nd Place – Rachel Stukey

Electric Vehicle charging station placement

3rd Place – Zachary Towle

HVDC short circuit analysis with AC grid interconnection