University of Houston IEEE Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) Epsilon Epsilon Chapter 2020 Induction

On Saturday, April  25, 2020 the University of Houston (UH) HKN Epsilon Epsilon Chapter held its 2020 induction ceremony via ZOOM web conference and facilitated by Hannah SchroederIEEE UH HKN Student Branch President. It has been a long road in trying to get the Epsilon Epsilon chapter reinstated after a few years’ hiatus. The induction ceremony had nine inductees from the College of Engineering with various majors from Electrical Engineering, to Computer Science. This ceremony was pretty special because it was facilitated through Zoom web conferencing, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and shelter in place orders issued by the state.  It also highlights through adversity we can achieve greatness. A special thanks to Nancy Ostin, HKN Director and her team for supporting this ceremony with their leadership and support.

Join me in congratulating the 2020 HKN Epsilon Epsilon inductee as they start a new chapter in their lives and the lives of many others they will touch in living the purpose and spirit of HKN.








About IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu

Founded as Eta Kappa Nu in 1904 at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, then changed to IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu (IEEE-HKN) following a merger with IEEE in 2010, IEEE-HKN is the academic honor society for those studying the IEEE fields of interest, including electrical and computer engineering.

IEEE-HKN annually inducts over 3,000 students, faculty and professionals and has more than 200,000 alumni. The Society has chapters at more than 230 colleges and universities in the United States and around the world. Membership for students is by invitation only to those that possess outstanding academic achievement, character and attitude.

IEEE-HKN’s mission is to be the catalyst for the development of the “Complete Technical Professional.” Notable members include co-founder of Apple Inc. Steve Wozniak, “Father of the Internet” Vint Cerf, co-founder of Google Larry Page, and co-founder and Chairman Emeritus of Intel Corporation Gordon Moore.

Article submitted by: Christopher Sanderson, SMIEEEIEEE R5 South Area ChairIEEE-USA Career & Professional Development Committee,  Houston Section Chair, IEEE Admission and Advancement Committee




Leave a Reply