On April 6, 2024, IEEE Region 5 recognized the achievements of members, Sections, Student Branches, and companies at the R5 Annual Meeting Banquet in Springdale, Arkansas. Congratulations to our award winners.

Outstanding Small Section (<500)
The Ozark Section

Outstanding Large Student Branch (>50)
University of Texas at Dallas

Outstanding Large Company (>500)
The Boeing Company of Oklahoma City

Jim Leonard Outstanding Member
Eugene Freeman

Outstanding Engineering Educator
Chunjiang (CJ) Qian

Outstanding Student
Matt Rao, University of North Texas

John Meredith Lifetime Achievement
Diane Bowen Collier

Outstanding Young Professional
Evan Glover

Outstanding Individual Achievement
Mark Hunter
Eric Meier
Art Depoian II
Alan Washburn

Director’s Awards
For Hosting the AMA Series in 2023: Joe Redfield
For Hosting the 2023 RazorHack Challenge: Fortinet
For Hosting Over 40 Events in 2023: IEEE Local Group – Elkins Electronics Robotics Club
For Hosting the Region 5 Fall Executive Committee Meeting: The Lone Star Section and Southwest Research Institute
For Hosting the Region 5 Winter Executive Committee

Director Emeritus Awards
Bob Becnel
John Reinert
Francis Grosz